Did You Address the Ball?

The USGA says “A player has “addressed the ball” when he has grounded his club immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance.”

This means you can take a stroke and strike the ball without ever actually addressing the ball. There are already a few times that you may have done this without ever knowing it. For example, while hitting the ball out of the bunker, or hitting the ball out of a lateral or water hazard.

This can come in handy in a situation when you think that the ball may move by grounding the club or by other circumstances. If you prepare to strike the ball by hovering your club behind the ball instead of grounding it you are not addressing the ball. If the ball moves you would not incur a one stroke penalty.  Under rule 18-2b “If a player’s ball in play moves after he has addressed it (other than as a result of a stroke), the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke.”

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Practice Like You Play

How often do you practice putting like you play on the course? The next time you go to the putting green while practicing or before your

Ladder Drill

Would you like to improve your putting from long range? Here’s a great drill to improve your consistency and accuracy from long range.  The Ladder

SEASONAL SPECIAL at Chip Inks Golf

BUY 2 – One Hour Golf Lessons with Video Analysis for $260… Get 1 – One Hour Golf Lesson with Video Analysis Free!! To View a Sample Golf Lesson Analysis at

Chip Shots vs. Pitch Shots

Chip Shot: A chip shot is meant to be a low trajectory shot with minimal spin. The goal is to get the ball on the